<Return to WBU home page
Release date: March 30, 2004
Music students earn achievement awards

PLAINVIEW -- Wayland Baptist University's Department of Music honored eight of its students with the Music Achievement Awards after a competition recital held Thursday, March 25.

              The awards recognize outstanding scholar-musicians, with competition based on academic achievement as well as musical talent and performance. The awards are the highest granted yearly by the music department.

              Students compete for the awards by their class year, with two winners per level awarded. Music department faculty served as judges for the event, which featured 19 student performers. Dr. Gary Belshaw, Jennie Lynn Hodges and Polly Morgan served as accompanists for the competition.

              The winners of the Musical Achievement Awards are Gabrielle Unfred, first-year pianist from Lubbock; Megan Roberts, second-year percussionist from Clarendon; Curtis Broome, third-year percussionist from Lyons, Colo.; and Candice Lasiter, fourth-year clarinetist from Plainview.

Runners up are Abby Holmes first-year vocalist from Hobbs, N.M.; Mark Franklin, second-year euphonium player from Plainview; Amy Grisham, third-year vocalist from Plainview; and James Moss, fourth-year trombonist from Tahoka.