Returns to home page NEWS RELEASE

Release date: Feb.22, 2006

By Rhane Jeffress

Queens Experienced Record Win Streak in the 1950's


PLAINVIEW – On November 7, 1953, the Hutcherson Flying Queens of Wayland Baptist College coached by Caddo Matthews defeated a team called Dowell’s Dolls by a score of 51-31.  The team went on to win its first ever AAU National Championship that season.  Two years, 52 wins and another national championship later, Coach Harley Redin took over for Coach Matthews and the team kept on winning.  In 1957, the Flying Queens broke the world’s record for consecutive victories by winning their 101st straight game, a 66-17 pounding of Rhode Island. 


The next year, at the 1958 AAU National Tournament in St. Joseph, Missouri, the Flying Queens posted their first loss in over five years by a score of 46-42 to Nashville Business College in the semi-final game.  The Queens finished in 3rd place that year, but the 131-consecutive victories posted over the five-year period remains as a national collegiate record.


Many of those same Flying Queens will return to the Wayland Baptist campus this weekend for a special Homecoming event planned in their honor. 


Those teams won four consecutive AAU Championship titles.  Nine of the athletes picked up 15 All-American honors.  Three were crowned as National Free Throw Champions, and one was the runner-up at the AAU National Tournament Beauty Pageant. 


Pictures of the Flying Queens were featured in Life Magazine and in Sports Illustrated.  Humble Oil sponsored a national television program featuring the team.  The Plainview Chamber of Commerce sent a large basket of flowers congratulating the 56-57 team for its then-record breaking streak of 101 victories, and local automobile dealers furnished new cars for a parade celebrating the team’s third-straight national championship.


Four people associated with those teams are members of the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame – Claude Hutcherson, team sponsor; Harley Redin, coach; Patsy Neal and Katherine Washington



1953-54 – 29-0


1954-55 – 23-0




1956-57 – 29-0


1957-58 – 28-1