Student art on display at WBU

PLAINVIEW – The Abraham Art Gallery at Wayland Baptist University is hosting the West Texas Regional Scholastic Art Show. More than 600 works will be on display through Jan. 27. More than 1,400 pieces were entered from schools in West Texas.

“Shell Shocked” Courtney Archer, Frenship HS

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards started in 1923 as a way to showcase talented students on a national level and help them earn scholarships. The awards are the nation’s highest honor and the largest source of scholarships for creative teens.

“Life’s Essence” – Koby Griggs, Monterey HS

All students in grades 7-12 in public, private, parochial or home-school programs are encouraged to participate. Entries are made and judges at a regional level. More than 200,000 entries are typically made to more than 100 regional affiliates. Gold Key, Silver Key and Honorable Mention awards are given out at the regional level. The Gold Key awards are forwarded to New York City for national adjudication.

“Imagine” – Amber Casas, Frenship HS

Gold and silver awards are given at the national level. Artists who receive a national Gold Key award are invited to Carnegie Hall in June for a national ceremony, and they qualify from more than $8 million in scholarships from top colleges, universities and art schools.

“Manipulation” – Blake Sitzes, Levelland HS

The West Texas Regional show also gives out American Vision Awards for the best pieces in the show. This year five pieces were named American Vision Award winners. Courtney Archer and Amber Casas, both of Frenship High School, were named American Vision winners as was Blake Sitzes of Levelland, Koby Griggs of Monterey and Christopher Gaschen of Trinity Christian High School.

“66th and University” – Christopher Gaschen, Trinity Christian

Gold Key Award Winners
Borger High School: Savannah Barnhart (3 pieces), Parker Brown, Carly Phillips (3 pieces), Cassidy Pyle, Jasmine Sauceda.
Byron Martin Advanced Tech Center: Lauren Gonzales, Ulam Green, Nicholas Mitchell, Joseph Nava-Hernandez (2 pieces)

Coronado High School: Adriana Gutierrez, Samantha Holmes, Katherine McGough, Alexander Portillo, Emily Shafer

Coronado Junior High: Victor Cavazos

Denver City High School: Jacey Dyck, Cindy Rosas, Adriana Villa

Estacado High School: Adriana Gonzales

Frenship Heritage Middle School: Kyleigh Baker, Heidi Castro, Amber Casas, Alec Cofer, Logan Douglas, Andre Escoto, Caisey Gailey, Ryan Huntington, Bella James, Hunter McDannels, Jaycie Moore, Rafael Rodriguez, Rex Stevenson, Zoie Trevino

Frenship High School: Kinley Adams, Courtney Archer (3 pieces), Cassandra Awatt, Charles Banks, Alex Barinque, Jenny Bowler, Matthew Bradford, Victoria Brower, Bleaux Garza, Leah Giles (3 pieces), Heath Gossett, Taylor Harris, Sarah Hill (2 pieces), Hope Hughes, Kennedy Kinder, Maria Lafranboise (2 pieces), Ashley McClellan, Kylee McKinney (3 pieces), Brooke Morrison, Emily Pinedo, Cynthia Prieto, Art Son Rodriguez, Victoria Valles, Taylor Voth

Hutchinson Middle School: Christianna Cano, Sarah Carlile, Zarek Driver, Alyssa Paule Fuentes (2 pieces), Izaiah Gloria, Delainey Kendrick, Makayla Kirven, Jack Lewis, Jenny Lin, Rhett Marshall, Alex Murphy, Mackenzie Roan

Irons Middle School: Emma Davila (3 pieces), Keith Davila, Shayla Hopkins

Levelland High School: Blake Sitzes

Levelland Middle School: Michael Tienda

Lockney High School: Calvin Borunda, Osiel Mondragon

Lubbock-Cooper High School: Angel Barron (2 pieces), Halle Bloomer, Natalie Camarena, Adam Woods

Margaret Talkington School for Young Women Leaders: Keri Enos, Juliet Owuor, Emma Whitfill

Monterey High School: Christian Alegria, Taylor Freeman, Koby Griggs (5 pieces), Christian Mata

Olton High School: Claudia Lopez, Hailey Rodriguez

Plainview High School: Lucy Hernandez

Shallowater High School: Madalyn Christensen, Anna Crosthwait, Abbey Goodwyn (3 pieces), Madi Oliphint

Sudan High School: Megan Capers, Zachary Gonzales, Ashton Shultz

Terra Vista Middle School: Tanner Higgins, Natalie Musquiz

Trinity Christian School: Austin Catherman, Christopher Gaschen (2 pieces), Bennett Jacobs, Wei Chen Lou

Tulia High School: Nicole McClure

Silver Key Award Winners
Borger High School: Jalun Garza, Claire Huffine (2 pieces), Carly Phillips (2 pieces), Cassidy Pyle

Byron Martin Advanced Tech Center: Chloe Capodagli, Lauren Gonzales, Meghan Mercado, Victoria Stetson

Coronado High School: Elijah Ragland (2 pieces)

Coronado Junior High: Javier Flores Jr., Tiffany Gattis, Jaidyn Luera, Marcus Perez

Crosbyton High School: Summer Rayvon (2 pieces)

Denver City High School: Cass Moore, Jo Moore, Sean Romines

Estacado High School: Alyssa Cyphers

Frenship Heritage Middle School: Cambrie Ancell, Kyleigh Baker, Samuel Biggs, Heidi Castro, Noah Chavez, Jenny Garcia, Selena Honeycutt, Bella James, Brooklyn Montgomery, Jaden Peace, Meghan Ramos, Marissa Robillard

Frenship High School: Matthew Bradford, Hans Burda, Taylor Clanton, Anthony Ryan Davis, Jared Felan, Jeremy Garcia, Courtney Grover (3 pieces), Sarah Hill (2 pieces), Lia Kelley, Kennedy Kinder, Tashia Lomas, Rachel McCumber, Kylee McKinney, Alexia Oglesby, Taryn Sircable, Autume Young

Hart Junior-Senior High School: Alondra Avila

Hutchinson Middle School: Maria Beusterien (2 pieces), Brittany Cassel, Delainey Kendrick, Maya Madrid, Michaela Ott, Alexandra Rangel, Tatum Sechrist, Cale Taylor, Tristan Zheng

Irons Middle School: Kory Griggs, Amaiya Pachicano, Elly Ramirez, Erica Rosales

Levelland High School: William Baldwin, Amethyst Berryhill, Dewayne Harper, Matthew Morales, Allyssa Almager, Blake Sitzes

Levelland Middle School: Michael Tienda (2 pieces)

Lockney High School: Osiel Mondragon

Lubbock-Cooper High School: Angelica Alvarado, Howard Meyers, Laura Perez, Ashlin Taylor, Adam Woods (3 pieces)

Margaret Talkington School for Young Women Leaders: Malori Haggard, Lilliana Reyna

Monterey High School: Kaitlyn Gonzales, Taylor Hill, Breanna Martinez (2 pieces), Savannah Sanchez, Erica Thompson

Olton High School: Francisco Saenz, Esmeralda Valle, Jordan White-Sanders

Shallowater High School: Julia Bishop, Gilbert Garza, Abbey Goodwyn, Xena Vergara, Kade Young

Slaton High School: Gabriela Olivares, Ashley Montes

Trinity Christian School: Yuwei Cao, Christopher Gaschen (2 pieces), Mark George, Kalli Jo Johnston

Portfolio Gold Key Award Winners: Carly Phillips, Borger; Cassidy Pyle, Borger; Lauren Gonzales, Byron Martin Advanced Tech Center; Courtney Archer, Frenship; Taylor Clanton, Frenship; Leah Giles, Frenship; Heath Gossett, Frenship; Courtney Grover, Frenship; Sarah Hill, Frenship; Kennedy Kinder, Frenship; Mariah Lafranboise, Frenship; Kylee McKinney, Frenship; Koby Griggs, Monterey; Abbey Goodwyn, Shallowater; Christopher Gaschen, Trinity Christian

Portfolio Silver Key Award Winners: Mia Lewis, Frenship; Malori Haggard, Margaret Talkington School for Young Women Leaders; Destiny Mills, Monterey